Turning the perfect pen...is it possible?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rej19

Ok, I have been turning pens strictly as a hobby for a couple of years or so. I would guess maybe a hundred or so at the most. In other words I am not an "expert". But I have certainly learned a lot through this website and our local chapter meetings and probably most by trial and error. My equipment is decent but not highend. My "shop" is a corner of the garage. I think you get the picture. I am probably the average pen turner that visits this site.....I have no idea for sure. When I find the time to go to the shop and turn a masterpiece it always seems there is some little imperfecton. Sometimes only my highly trained penturning eye can see it but I know it's there. Sometimes the material, wood or acrylic, or whatever just doesn't look right on the kit after assembled. Sometimes the finish no matter what type I have tried is almost perfect put this one miniscule spot that sticks out like a sore thumb to me. Or I fine a little imperfection in the kit...... probably put there by me. Or I have overturned or underturned and on and on. I usually use my wife as the first person in the quality control department. The only problem it always passes. Then I show her the fragment of my imagination and she laughs and walks off. Here is my question. Is it possible to pick the right material, kit, and finish and assemble the perfect pen? Don't tell me yes for I fear how long it might take to learn how to do it.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Scooley01

It's important to remember that we're all our own worst critic...I think the day you sit down and turn a pen that you're 100% happy with every aspect of would be the day you give up on ever turning another pen...the imperfections are my drive to turn another pen!

Andrew Arndts