Terminology, Acronyms

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JRK

Hi, sorry for the stupid question. I am new to this and I keep running across terminology the I don't understand.

Can someone explain to me these two??

BASH

PITH - I know this means Pen In The Hand, but I am in the dark about the meaning...

Thanks

jerry

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

WIDirt

JRK,

The BASH is not an acronym. IAP was set in February way back when, so we have a BASH to celebrate, I.E. PARTY!

PITH stands for Pen in the Hat (not hand). It is a trade done with other members who sign up, a random draw is done to put two members together. They each turn a pen, then trade with each other.

WIDirt

Hey there Jerry, I would imagine someone else can explain things better than I can, but I'll give it a go anyway.

The BASH is IAP's birthday celebration that goes on each February and consists of contests, puzzles, auctions and prizes.

PITH does stand for Pen In The Hand or Pen In The Hat and is usually(but not all the time anymore, we have a forum for individuals to trade now) a gathering of turners that exchange pens and blanks by mail to each other for fun.

Here is a .pdf file that you can look at that will give you answers to other acronyms that are regularly used here. You'll need a acrobat reader to read it.

Hope I answered your question and welcome to the site.

Todd answered it while I was typing out may responce, Thanks Todd. I'll leave it up just for the link to the acronym .pdf

Last edited:

TonyL

Does the library have a glossary of acronyms? "WTF" threw me when I started 5 years ago. I new this was a kid-friendly forum, but I had no idea what that stood for.

StanBrown

Does the library have a glossary of acronyms? "WTF" threw me when I started 5 years ago. I new this was a kid-friendly forum, but I had no idea what that stood for.