Sleep Apnea

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

Hi Folks:

I am trying to help my younger brother out. He is 42 and has not gotten used to wearing his cpap machine (close to a year using it). Does anyone have any experience with the mouth-piece devices?

Thank you.

Tony

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

I have been using CPAP for 24 years. . I do not use a full face mask. . The small mask that I use has what they call "nasal pillows" which stream the air directly into the nostrils. . There are elastic straps going over the top of my head and around the base of my skull which have Velcro adjustments. . The airflow ramps up to the prescribed value over about half and hour. . I can give you the manufacturer name if you wish.

You still have to get used to the air flow and having warmed air is less troublesome. . The machine has a water reservoir with a heater underneath. I can get you the manufacturer name if you wish. This is only my second machine and I got it about 5 yrs ago. The first machine which I used for 19 years was a real dinosaur of a thing ... probably one of the first on the market and quite noisy/intrusive. . My present machine is orders of magnitude better.