Question - Need ideas please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Big

This is probably a stupid question and if so, I apologize. As a complete novice to the craft I have so much to learn. I am going to immerse myself into the videos and library and have already spent many hours watching the videos that I have found on Youtube and people's sites.

If you have a specific question, let's say about making molds for casting acrylic for example, can you identify "experts" on the forums who might be able to mentor or help with the process? Such as pointing you in the right direction for where to get specific materials, or tips on how to best handle the acrylic, or getting rid of the bubbles without a PV.

I have had both hips replaced and am getting ready to have to have the left one redone. I just had surgery on my right ankle bone and am currently having to use a boot and a scooter device called a "Knee Walker". My point in telling you this is because I sometimes to often will have to resort to using a cane. With that in mind, I have been wanting to make and customize canes. My thinking was to apply pen making skills and tricks to making canes such as using carbon fibre and then pouring acrylic to make cane blanks. This would require making molds large enough for a cane shaft and would also take quite a bit of resin. Then I will have to figure out the necessary hardware for cane heads and attaching them. So, I was wondering if we have some folks in the community that might have some ideas or be able to help me brainstorm and figure this project out? I would love to do a line of customized canes for people at the Navy base and VA here in Pensacola as well as other ideas that I would apply to the canes.

Just some thoughts for you to consider.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

monophoto

There is a little information around on making canes from wood. In fact, I think Capt. Eddie even did a video on that subject (is there a subject he HASN'T done a video on?).