Pen Turning Magazine, its time.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Marines1407

Hello all,

I know I am new to the hobby (right at a year) and I have not posted much to IAP but I think pen making should have its own published magazine. I think the articles in the library are a great resource but a full color magazine would be great.
I have learned a lot in my first year and just like all of you, I wish to continue to learn and grow in this hobby. Just look at all the thread topics and library topics. Everything from how to turn your first pen, to selecting and using a lathe and tools, to advanced pen turning such as stabilization and blank casting.

The downside, I have no idea how to start such publication.

Who's with me?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PTsideshow

Unless you have an independent source of unlimited funds. It probably isn't going to happen.

This is as close as you will get, check the back issues as there are a lot of great articles. Inside the October 2013 Issue of Woodturning Design
There are 2/3 articles each month.

Another masterclass is Pen Makers Guild Articles Page Some of the members are active on here a great resource to the best of the best.

The problem with the print magazines is cost vs. subscriptions the costs keep going up, so the cost of subscriptions go up, the number of people willing to pay for generally a declining number of pages and issues is going down.

The model of how this forum is funded is probably the best one out there.

Since pay to read on the net has a very small subscriber-ship, net magazines. The response I have seen has been everything from; are you "Fing" nuts, to you got to be kidding, to a large silence of the keyboard. Whether it is a video magazine of how to's, to a on line magazine, Or the latest one of taking over the copyright of a forums posters and turning them into an Ebook.