One for my memoirs

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sbwertz

In real life I am a computer consultant. For several weeks, I've been getting calls from an 89 year old client complaining that her computer is making a loud beeping noise, but by the time I could get there, it had stopped and I could not find any reason for the beeping. Today, she called me as soon as it started and I stopped what I was doing (working in the shop) and drove over there immediately...sawdust and all. I walked into her office and immediately realized it was coming from the desktop, not the computer, that was down on the floor. At first I though it was the modem, but closer examination showed it was coming apparenty from the led monitor. I couldn't figure out why the monitor would have any sort of alarm. As I inspected the monitor more closely, I realized it was NOT coming from the monitor, but from a small pen and pencil desk set....with a clock. Yep, it was the alarm on the clock. It had apparently been going off every day for weeks, but unless she was in the room with it, she couldn't hear it. And it only ran for a few minutes and shut itself off.

Fortunately I only live about 4 miles from her and was able to get there before it shut itself off.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Hey Sharon... Every time I turn the shop lights off and go up the steps out of the basement I get these weird voices in my head? Kind of like metallic rust growing on machines that are threatening me "not to go away for long." Not too loud, but like a splinter, you know it's there. Then when I turn the lights on, they go away???

Any suggestions :redface:?

sbwertz

Funny, but I get those funny voices in my head, too. Usually about midnight. "Did I turn out the shop lights? Did I turn off the air conditioner/heater?"