Making progress in the shop

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ToddMR

Well I finally got the bx ran and a two outlet box hung yesterday in the shop and all tied into the switch. Now I can flip my lights on and off by that instead of the entire power out there. My good friend's dad wired the shop last year and for now we have a heavy duty ext cord feeding the power. We have a dedicated wire ran into the basement and into the garage, now its just a matter of hooking up the shutoff box to the main breaker in the house and it will have a dedicated circuit completed. I tell you what it took me over 40 minutes to do what would probably have taken him 20 lol. But I learn as I go and wanted to make sure it was done right.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

workinforwood

That sounds like a great plan. If you have a separate panel then it's much easier and cheaper to power up, especially 220 plugs. I'm not an electrician but I think you can go 2/3 the power of the panel in the house, so like at my house I have a 150 amp panel, so in my shop I am able to have 100 amps. There's 4 huge cables underground and a telephone wire from the house to the shop. Wish I had buried a lan cable too. I'm thinking about trying one of those router thingies that can broadcast internet over the power lines so I can connect online in the shop from the house.

ToddMR

Or you could just bridge a wifi router in the shop to one in the house, unless it won't reach signal wise. We have installed a shut off box in the garage and a breaker box too. Just a matter of getting off the extension cord now.

ohiococonut