I thought we abolished slavery

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JeffT

Welcome to the new economy... Avoid staffing to normal levels and expect whoever is left to work to the breaking point.

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
We have an attorney down here that advertises regularly (daily) on the radio for people with just that kind of situation. You may wish to speak to an attourney it may violate the law.

JimBellina

I'm no lawyer, and you may not want to lose a job over this, but unless you qualify as an exempt employee then they have to pay you for overtime under federal law.

If it was me I'd work it, turn in the hours or otherwise keep some evidence of the time worked, maybe send status emails that look innocent but that are really just to log the time, and then decide what to do later. If you really don't like them, then suggest that other folks do the same; someone will decide to fight it and you'll get the benefit without the downside risk.

FYI, I typically work 12+ hours per day 6 or 7 days a week, and don't get paid by the hour...but then I own the company. My employees except for mgmt and some sales folks all get OT...unions exist because mgmt makes stupid decisions.

Jim

Grim Spirit

While the idea DOES suck, it fails even to approach the definition of slavery.

You do have the option of walking away, and you are getting paid.

When our company switched to a new operating system I would have loved to been able to limit my time to a mere 16 hours a day, 7 days a week. This went on for over 3 months.

I stuck it out because: a) the pay was good, b) the business depended on it & c) I just didn't feel like changing jobs.

You have to ask yourself: "Is it worth it."

Good luck, either way.

Andrew_K99

Before commenting it'd be nice to know what you do and how long this goes on for. Some jobs have these hours where you're on duty ready to go but not actually working all the time you're there.

Smitty37