How much do you charge?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bcfire133

I'm new to pen making. I just finished my 6th pen. I was showing some to co-workers, and they started asking how much I wanted for them. I really haven't thought about selling yet, wanted to practice a little more. The pens I showed them are funline slimline kits in gun metal. I have about $6.00 invested in each pen (kit, blanks). My question is....what is a decent price to sell them? I don't want to go too high, but I don't want to cheat myself either! Any words of wisdom?!? Here is one they looked at.
4a4c52c5c64104155f1bf06f3f7dcde7.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Penturners.org mobile app

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

Congratulations! This may give you some idea: https://www.etsy.com/search?q=custom+pens&order=most_relevant&view_type=gallery&ship_to=US

To answer your question: 4 to 6 times my cost depending on the labor involved..but nothing less than $40. But please keep in mind, I do not actively sell pens, I give away (or sometimes keep) 80% of what make, and I don't make slim lines. I am not a representative reference for your question, but this (above) is what I sell them for. You will find the right balance for your market. Enjoy!

jttheclockman

Many ways to approach this. You could hand it out and explain you are just starting out and would like feedback. You could sell but again explain when you get better the prices will be higher so explain they are getting in on a ground floor pricing. Or go at it full blown and establish a price range. To me that is a 12 to 15 dollar pen at most. You can not charge for your time and effort because you really are not established yet and you will do them much faster as you go along. Your quality will improve as well as your fit and finish. To me I would do the first suggestion. But it is only an opinion. Good luck.

thewishman