How many Pen Kits are Too Many???

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Marker

Hello, I have been turning pens for about 2 years now..over the last 2 years I have acquired over 1500 pen kits. and enough lumber to make probably over Hundred Thousand pens, That is if you count birdseye, curly, and spalted maple.

Would you say that I have gone too far with them????
I hardly have the time to make them anymore do to work.

Do you think they hold there value enough, so that I could be able to get my money back out. If I were to sell the Kits, say on ebay??

I love making pens, But somethings, I think that I just went alittle over Borad, and that If I would of put all the money That I have spent on pen kits, and other pen making stuff, in somthing else, I would of done better.

so do you think That I could get most of my money back, If I were to sell most of them?

Thanks

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

thewishman

You could probably sell most kits for close to what you paid. I assume that you got good quantity discounts with your purchases. Some discontinued kits (Emperor, Lotus...) may go for more than your purchase price.

hanau

Well seems like you did go overboard. sorry to say they don't hold there value but I will gladly take it off your hands.

Just box it all up and send it parcel post and You will feel better. :)

My advice put them away and keep them just in case you do have time to get back to turing.

I got rid off all my turning stuff a few years ago and now I am replacing it all.

Woodlvr

Maybe sell some of them here and you can make some of your costs back. I bet there would be a great deal of interest on here for certain types of kits. I have gone through my kits and did not realize that they are as old as they are and I probably not sell them for 25% of what I paid for them. Just my 2 cents. Good luck:)

PS I will pay for all of the shipping if you send them to me, no one has offered this:biggrin:

Last edited:

mredburn