Have you been burnt out

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

EBorraga

Passed Away July 17, 2022
In Memoriam
I've been turning since sometime in 2007. When I first started I could turn all day and night. About a year ago I quit turning. I had no desire to make a pen or anything else. I followed IAP but was burned out. Last weekend I got back into turning. I've made 7 or 8 pens plus a few other things. It feels nice to turn again. I'm also glad that I can turn when I feel like it. Anybody else get burned out and take a break?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

larryc

If I don't do something pen related, turning, finishing, polishing, assembling, etc. every day I have a feeling that something is missing. I don't have a problem. :)

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
I'm newer than most, but after making a bunch 80-100 blanks for the last MPG, life got in the way and I have done little for the past 2-3 months.

But... For "stress reduction purposes" I have slowly crept back into the shop. I could care less what comes out, I just need some time alone. Alas, a few nice things have emerged.

I cherish that penturning, woodturning, playing in the shop can be a hobby.

SteveAxelrod

I know the focus of IAP is pens and I love turning pens but there are so mnay other things to turn...how can you resist? I've also just started casting my own pen blanks (and razor handles and razor stands and shaving brush handles). All you need is a 5" piece of 3/4" PVC pipe, a pint of polyester resin you can buy for $12 with a coupon from JoAnn Fabrics or Michaels and a few little jars of Pearlex in your favorite colors and you're in business. Easy peasy and your only limitation is your imagination. There's all kinds of things you can throw into your casting...acorn caps, pine cones, coffee beans, sweet gum pods, pieces of any kind of wood you like (break up some of your wood cutoffs and toss them in). There are YouTube videos galore on casting.