Electrical panel wiring? - International Association of Penturners
     International Association of Penturners
Pens for Service Members
 
Support The IAP

Go Back   International Association of Penturners > Community Forums > Casual Conversation
  Forgot Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Casual Conversation Off-topic, general chat.


Logged on members can hide ads!

Welcome to penturners.org!

You've found the home of The International Association of Penturners. You are currently viewing our site as a guest, which gives you limited access to view discussions, photos, and library articles.

Consider joining our community today. You'll have full access to all of our content, be able to enter our contests, find local chapters near you, and post your questions and share your experience with our members all over the world.

Membership is completely free!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2017, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: thomasville, nc, USA.
Posts: 1,257
Photos: 1

Default Electrical panel wiring?

Started running my electric in my building.

Little confused on the neutral and ground.

If you look at the neutral bars they attached through a jumper ,(black thing)
Does the neutral and ground connect to the bars neutral on one side and ground on the opposite?
or do i buy a ground bar and install it in the panel?

I seen both ways on line.

Breaker box is not installed sideways, the picture turned on me when i uploaded it.
Attached Thumbnails
20171112_143849.jpg  
__________________
John
Carbide turning tools and replacement inserts.
www.ncwoodturningtools.com

Last edited by hanau; 11-12-2017 at 09:44 PM.
hanau is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-12-2017, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Barnmb7117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Chicago,IL / Weyauwega, WI
Posts: 54
Photos: 0

Default

Doesn't code require a license to do electrical work?
Barnmb7117 is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-12-2017, 10:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Richwood, OH
Posts: 309
Photos: 0

Default

If you have to ask, you probably shouldn't.
You are going to put cable clamps on the cables?
__________________
"Just because it's on the Internet doesn't make it true." - Abraham Lincoln -

Last edited by Gregf; 11-12-2017 at 10:06 PM.
Gregf is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Advertisement
Old 11-12-2017, 10:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
TurtleTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Checotah, Oklahoma 74426
Posts: 657
Photos: 0

Default

They changed breaker boxes couple decades ago with new code. Yes, the ground and common buses do connect. Ground to the copper bus, common to silver bus. Black to the breaker. Don't take my word for it though, run the query through google as this is too important to risk screwing up.
They used to sell do it yourself electrical books at hardware stores but I believe they quit doing that.
__________________
Common sense is a most uncommon thing. Twain
Likes: (1)
TurtleTom is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-12-2017, 10:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 648
Photos: 58

Default

Just for general education, the ground is the bare copper wire, the common is the white wire, and the hot is the black.

Unless you are wiring for 220 you place the black into the lug on the breaker, and the common and ground go into one of the two metal bars on the side of the breaker box.

Having said that, unless you know what you are doing and feeling good about you ability, it would be smarter to get an electrician to connect everything in the breaker box.

You can run the wires yourself to save money, and get the electrician to show you how to wire the outlets into the box to save money.

DO NOT try to connect any wiring with it hot, powered on, unless you like getting shocked.
eharri446 is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-12-2017, 10:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: thomasville, nc, USA.
Posts: 1,257
Photos: 1

Default

Thanks for the replies.

It just confused me some always thought there was a separate neutral and a separate ground.

When we looked it up we found it both ways.
Neutral and grounds on the same bar and then another both on there own bars not connected.

We did get temporary power on in the building.
All outlets work and the lights work.
__________________
John
Carbide turning tools and replacement inserts.
www.ncwoodturningtools.com
hanau is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-12-2017, 10:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
KenV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Juneau, Alaska.
Photos: 0

Default

Earth Ground (ground rod) and the Neutral are bonded at the main breaker/disconnect panel only. They are separate into the building.

It appears you are inatalling a branch panel. NEC now requires 4 wire 220 volt wiring.

The code is a moving target and what was good 5 years ago will fail inspection today.
__________________
Ken Vaughan
Old Apprentice Machinist - Back in Alaska
Likes: (1)
KenV is online now   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-13-2017, 02:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
tomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 287
Photos: 0

Default

You should consult your local Zoning and Permits office. They were very helpful for me. When I built my shop a few years ago, I had to switch my house from a 100 AMP panel to a 200 AMP. They had all kinds of things I had to do to complete the upgrade. 2 new 8' ground rods, 6 gauge solid copper wire from panel to where water service enters the house, Carbon-mon-Oxide detectors, GFCI receptacles at the end of each circuit, among other things. You should go to Amazon and order a good electrical wiring book.

Tomas
tomas is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-13-2017, 08:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
alankulwicki7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vadnais Heights, MN
Posts: 1,530
Photos: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnmb7117 View Post
Doesn't code require a license to do electrical work?
Not necessarily. Not sure what it is everywhere else but in Minnesota you can perform electrical work on your own home. Over the years I did all the electrical in our house addition, detached garage and basement remodel. I did make sure to cover my butt and had everything inspected
__________________
Keep on turnin'
Doug
alankulwicki7 is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Related Content
Logged on members can hide ads
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

Content Copyright © 2003-2016 by Penturners.org, LLC; All Rights Reserved
Terms Of Service   Acceptable Use Policy