Dust Collection

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kooster

:confused: I am a newbie turner and I would like some advice on dust collection. I'm currently turning outdoors, transporting benchtop equipment and lathe outside as needed and as weather permits. However, as winter approaches I would like to do my turning indoors. I am extremely tight on space and would like to set up my Craftsman, 8gal.(4HP) shop vac as a collection device. I've purchased a small hood from PSI (held near the piece via magnet) and the adapter for the hose. I've also upgraded the filter for the shop vac to a hepa version and, added a muffler/noise damper on the back end of the vac. Is this an adequate setup for collecting the "fine" dust particles I've been reading much about & also not "dusting out" our family room? As I said, unfortunately space is a premium so I need to make due. I spoke with the tech at PSI and this was his first suggestion. The second was to go to their compact/portable unit.(less HP) and $$$.
Thanks for any suggestions and yes, I have pondered the idea of turning outside as long as possible and laying low for the winter but if there's another way . . .

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

raar25

First anything is better than nothing so your already on the right track. The thing you need to consider is air volume and particle size are the critical elements you need to target. So don't pay any attention to the HP rating because they are only relative based on some theoretical calculation. What you need to focus on is CFM and micron filtration. The harborfreight 2 HP dust collector I have draw 10x more air than my 6.5 HP shop vac. You will really see the difference 6-12 inches away from the intake port. Also there is no way to draw enough air through the small hose. It is that extra draw that will pull fine particles into the air intake.