Dremel Torque

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jeff

Administrator
Staff member
Well, after 40 years, my Dremel model 380 bit the dust. I bought it at the hardware store where I worked as a kid. I eyeballed that thing for months before I finally decided to buy it. I remember it was $62, and over the next year I bought every single burr, bit, disk, and gadget they made for it.

Anyway, I bought a model 3000 on Amazon to replace it. What a disappointment. This thing has almost no torque at low speed. I have a small buffing wheel in it and when I touch it lightly to the rouge, it stops! My old one had plenty of torque over the whole speed range. It has reasonable torque at full speed, but not like the old one at all.

Does anyone have a modern variable speed Dremel who can give me an opinion? I don't know if the one I have is defective or if my expectations are out of whack.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BRobbins629

Passed Away Dec 28, 2021
In Memoriam
I use a Foredom tool. Actually have several handpieces with the heavy duty motor, but even the lighter duty ones are fine - for buffing and general purpose, the handpiece with the small jabobs chuck works great. You can either use a variable speed controller or a foot pedal. Jewelers use these all the time and all the dremel burs will work.

seamus7227

I have a model 395 and i love it. With that said, im not sure what model supercedes this one.

Attachments

• Dremel-Front-Box.jpg
    Dremel-Front-Box.jpg
    36.9 KB · Views: 586

NewLondon88

Local Chapter Leader
I have an older Dremel, probably around the same age as yours.
And I have newer ones.

Yes, your new one has a defect.
The design.

New ones got no Moxie.
It's as if the new ones don't want to offend the part by
drilling a hole in it or buffing it. Easily stops with finger pressure
on the chuck. The older ones were no Foredoms, but they did
a decent job for what they were, and properly oiled and cleaned
they'd last forever. Or close.

jeff