Is this cocobolo?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

greenacres2

As a rough blank, this looked like cocobolo. As I started to turn, it looks almost like a burl. Still has the yellows & purples of coco, and the kind of glitter look at the right light angle that I've seen in coco.

Blank is turned to a Le Roi Royale, but I put a CA finish on that darkened it more than I like--so I may turn that off and do WTF or Craft Coat.

If he's reading--the blank was in a bunch of shorts I bought from greenmtnguy (Alton)--but I don't think the wood is native to the Northeast US!!

Thanks,
earl

Attachments

• What Wood 1.jpg
    What Wood 1.jpg
    87.4 KB · Views: 337
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

I am a novice wood identifier, but i would say , no, or that I have never seen Cocobola with that type of grain pattern and color. Great minds will know.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
The grain looks right, the color looks possible, is the back side much darker--it looks like it transitions to the darker, more common color of cocobolo.

The dead giveaway is the smell, as you are turning it.

Dehn0045

Here is a link that shows what is claimed to be cocobolo burl: https://www.bladeforums.com/threads...rl-rosewood-burl-tasmanian-blackwood.1545135/

I've never actually held Cocobolo burl in my hand, but based on many hours of looking at burls online I'd say it's quite possibly Cocobolo burl that you have. I have quite a bit of HRB, and though the richness of the color can vary, the sapwood tends to be lighter and less purple/orange. That said, a lot of folks with questionable ethics will label HRB as Coco to jack up the price...

greenacres2

Thanks guys. I couldn't resize the pic of the other side earlier--but got it now. Darker, but not appreciably. Hard to get good smell with the dust collector running, but sort of musty chocolate maybe?