CarbaTec motor - International Association of Penturners
     International Association of Penturners
Pens for Service Members
 
Support The IAP

Go Back   International Association of Penturners > Community Forums > Casual Conversation
  Forgot Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Casual Conversation Off-topic, general chat.


Logged on members can hide ads!

Welcome to penturners.org!

You've found the home of The International Association of Penturners. You are currently viewing our site as a guest, which gives you limited access to view discussions, photos, and library articles.

Consider joining our community today. You'll have full access to all of our content, be able to enter our contests, find local chapters near you, and post your questions and share your experience with our members all over the world.

Membership is completely free!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2011, 03:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
leestoresund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 647
Photos: 12

Default CarbaTec motor

The motor and controller for my VS CarbaTec went south last week. My motor was about 5 years old.
I bought the PSI 1/2 hp VS motor knowing that it was not supported by PSI for the CarbaTec because they did not have a template or replacement connector plate.
I've got it out with a machine shop now being rigged to work but it could be better if it had the connector plate designed just for the replacement.
(Connector plate being that piece of metal that connects between the motor and the lathe itself.)
I'm wondering if there are other CarbaTec owners out there that would be interested in upgrading/replacing the motor if there were a specific adapter for it.

Lee
leestoresund is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 04-19-2011, 08:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
leestoresund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 647
Photos: 12

Default Update on CarbaTec lathe

Got the mounting bracket back with holes precisely drilled.
The most difficult part (for me) was getting the belt back on the pulleys.
Motor mounts right in the same place.
The original pulley from the CarbaTec was step drilled to match the shaft on the new motor.
The PSI motor is slightly longer but the same diameter. That means it extends beyond the cross piece below the bed but, thankfully, the motor just touches the bottom and it is still level.
It has a different sound than the other. It may also be a little slower on the top end.
The machinist has made a template if someone else has this problem.
On the whole, it cost me about $160 to replace the motor.
Lee
leestoresund is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Related Content
Logged on members can hide ads
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
adapter , carbatec , lathe

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

Content Copyright © 2003-2016 by Penturners.org, LLC; All Rights Reserved
Terms Of Service   Acceptable Use Policy