Any bowl turners?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

saltwein

I am turning my first bowl. Started with a slab of spalted maple, I am having a heck of a time getting anywhere near a smooth surface. Taking light cuts and using sharp tools. I like the shape of the bowl and am just considering doing a lot of sanding-any suggestions?

Regards, Steve

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ChrisL

Steve,
I am by no means an expert but I have turned many bowls. Most likely the blank you chose may be a little too punky and sofy which is why you are getting the tearout. You can try smoothing it with a scraper. This can sometimes help or you can try a shear cut with your bowl gouge where you stand the gouge almost vertical and roll the edge od the gouge over until it starts a light cut. That is the best way but takes some practice to do right. You might also try saturating the areas with thin CA and then take light cuts. Spalted wood is beautiful but can be a pain to work with.

Chris

Jim Boyd

Originally posted by Ron in Drums PA
<br />Do you know how to do a shear cut with a bowl gouge?

One trick is to apply a oil finish to the wood than take some light cuts.

Good luck

I've used soapy water in a spray bottle.
Steve here is a link to a post by Bill Grumbine showing various cutting technics including shear scraping.

M

Mudder

I think you might want to try a different material for the first bowl. Spalted wood is difficult for even a master bowl turner
(which I am far from). I have had spalted bowls that I have had to use a sander to finish because no matter what I did the punky wood tore out.

vick

Not an expert but make sure that you identified where your end grain is, if it is on the sides of the blank make sure you are cuttilng from smallest to biggest on the outside of the bowl and from biggest to smallest on the inside. If endgrain is betwean centers reverse everything I just said[:D].

Dario