Alternative finish to CA for pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sbwertz

One of my volunteer trainers at the Center for the Blind is allergic to CA. What is the best alternative for finishing pens? For peppermills, stoppers, etc she uses Mylands. I have the Woodturner's finish I could take down there. Does anyone have experience with the "longevity" of this finish on pens?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

Funny, I just used some to repair my earphones and slippers LOL. I am going to try one more of their (Wahoo's) products; I now own 4, plus one they made especially for me. I should receive it Friday. Like, CA there is a knack to applying it and regardless of the UV light you buy..nothing beats sunlight light so far in all of my experimenting. I will keep those that expressed and interested posted.

MTViper

I've had great luck with Doctor's Woodshop Pens Plus finish. It's a friction polish with Walnut oil, Shellac, and wax. I've been using it for a couple of years now and love it. I only use CA for a finish when forced to. I prefer the look of friction polish for pens.

For larger turnings, I've used pure tung oil, tung oil finish, poly, and a beeswax/mineral oil home made finish.

leehljp

Member Liaison
Lacquer is another great finish.

As with most flat wood finishes, lacquer, poly, oils, - TIME is a must consideration. One of the draws of pen making is the ability to make and finish in a limited time, or in one "class". That is also the draw of CA. Move outside of CA, and your open time is increased or spread across two classes. Lacquer and Oils will set in an hour, but final buffing finish, in general, is reserved for the following day, or at least a few hours later. WAXES make for beautiful finishes but wear off almost immediately or as soon as a customer starts using it.

Solarez is a promising new finish with short finish time, but UV light is needed.

Have you tried Odorless CA as mentioned by Duncuss?