air conditioner question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bjbear76

I'm thinking of putting an air conditioner in my shop to make it a bit more comfortable during the summer months. Right now, I have a fan mounted in the window of my 20 x 30 garage. I'm debating between installing a window unit or getting one of those portable air conditioners.
Does anyone have any experience with the portable a/c's? And which would be more effective (not necessarily more efficient).
I doubt I would run it all day, just when I plan some shop time.
What are the pros and cons to consider?

Thanks for your input

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Charlie_W

Bill,
While I am not an HVAC professional at all, my instinct would be to go with the window unit/s. I have no experience with the portables though I think some will vent the heat from the unit outside.What about a condensate drain on the portables? Do they need one or do you dump a reservoir?

You have a lot of space there. Is it insulated? What is the ceiling height? You may need a fan or ceiling fans to move air around but that will move dust around as well.

I am thinking you will need the biggest, baddest window unit you can get that will fit....and probably more than one. And then think about power. The larger units will most likely be 220Volt. Do you have power available? Space in your panel and a large enough main to handle the extra load?

I had an old window unit in a small 12X/20 Un insulated shop years ago. You will need to blow out the filter very often as well as the coils.

Good luck!

Last edited:

scotirish

Workshop AC