$35,000 chair... and me on my bum.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RMB

I'm almost speechless, that's an amazing chair...

http://www.sarasotarockers.com/amboynaburl.htm

I'm currently working on a rocking chair for my brother in law and his expecting wife. I've never built a single chair before, so I might be a bit overambitious. Made a prototype today, no plans, no scale drawings, just measured off of my own body and traced my butt for a seat, just got some 2X and started sketching curves on it and cutting. Supprisingly it worked, was exceedingly comfortable, and rocked nicely.

It was all going pretty well, I was rocking, comfortable, a bit proud of myself, then it broke. The skids I had hastily made out of 1/2" strandboard siding failed when I leaned too far back on them. It was an AFV moment. Anybody remember The Patriot?

Pi is the key, the heighth from butt to ground times 3.14 equals the radius of the curve for the skids. Sorry, I'm rambling now, but this has been all I've thought about for the last couple of days, and my Fiance is tired of listening to me.

Anybody else built a rocking chair? Or chairs in general?

Thanks for reading! I'll post a pic when It's done... May be a while as I'm simultaniously planning a wedding, working on a pen order, working full time, making myself a dining table, and building a boat. All while trying to get in some fishing, study, and time with my Fiance. Geez! I hardly have time for drinking anymore!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
Sam Maloof originated the design and his chairs in walnut or other non burl start at $25,000 and have been going for that for years. He sells a lot more than a few too and has some of his work in some of the finest museums in the world.