segmenting a geometric logo

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hi y'all,

I'm still a newbie, having made about 15 pens, and only a few with simple segmenting like Celtic knots. I was wondering if anyone might have a suggestion for how to make a pen with segmenting that will suggest the attached logo. It doesn't have to look exactly like it, but something that resembles it enough to make you think of it. This is for co-workers at my organization.

Any help from people who can think in 3-D much better than I can??

--Rob

Attachments

• mark-whitebkgd.jpg
    mark-whitebkgd.jpg
    593.7 KB · Views: 668
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Hi Rob:

First, keep in mind the the final diameter will be round, not the angles that are in the pictures.

If you eliminate the inner square, and simply glue/epoxy together four different types of wood, it will result in a four sided segmented blank. this is pretty easy, but I'm not sure if this is what you are looking for.

Keep asking questions if this is incorrect.

Curly

You could save yourself a lot of work by making a decal of the logo and applying it to the pens.

Now if you still want to segment it then look at the logo as an octagon made of 4 boat hulls around a square. What I would do is to make those boat hulls from wood a couple feet long by sawing and hand planing with the hull in grooves to get the shape or on a sled through a planer.

To glue together around the square, wrap with surgical tubing or inner tube cut into strips.

Now take the two foot octagon and cut it in half. And glue it together along one of the sides of the octagon. Glue a triangle piece to fit above and below the glue joint.