Segmenting failures......

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Janster

..... I am relatively new to pen turning and segmenting but I see why the failure rate, (at least for me) is high. The tubes I generally use measure .411 OD, the finish bushing OD is .472. This leaves .061 or .0305 worth of skin on the tube! Turning down that far leaves very little room for error. Factor in the .020 thin edge of your Brass, Copper and or Aluminum segmenting piece, trying to adhere to the tube, although strengthened by the surrounding material, it is just not alot of grab!
I personally do not like the wasp type bodied pens, slim ends and pregnant looking middle ( single tube set up). So, for me, I have but .030 thickness the entire length. But, I got through on today with only ONE (1) blowout that was not too difficult to repair. Hopefully I can post it tomorrow. Any thoughts or input are welcome. If we each share our expeiences and or problems as a community for the growth of pen making, we'll all be better off down the road, JMHO. Thanks and be well.............Jan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ocsejd

I have found that most of my failures occur from lack of heat control. Either I drill too fast, sand too hard, or cut too deep per pass. Even with the very tight tolerances allotted, a good epoxy will hold even the thinnest pieces in place...most of the time. The best lesson I've learned in reference to segmenting is how to repair a failure as that happens as much as a first time success.

butchf18a

When teaching someone to turn, lesson one is how to sharpen their tools. If a turner is blowing out blanks, needing to do a lot of sanding, their tools are not sharp. How many posts do we see day in and day out that stress the critical importance of sharp tools. Sharp tools, light touch a turner should be able to start sanding with 220 grit or better. 4-6 seconds per grit is all thats needed.

jttheclockman