My First Segmented Blank

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

toddlf

During the last couple of weeks I have made a new Band Saw Sled, and enhancements to that sled to support an adjustable stop block and a pen blank sizing jig. I have since made a segmented blank and a pen that utilizes that blank.

Here is a link to the video for the segmented blank.

https://youtu.be/USXunXr9I1c

The video for the pen that uses the blank will follow soon.

I am really new to the world of segmented blanks. I hope I did ok!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
I like your sled. Particularly the way you use the tube length to cut the blank.
Very clever. I think I was first to give your video a thumbs up too:biggrin:
Pen turned out great too!!:wink:

toddlf

I like your sled. Particularly the way you use the tube length to cut the blank.
Very clever. I think I was first to give your video a thumbs up too:biggrin:
Pen turned out great too!!:wink:

I have seen several jigs for cutting pen blanks in past YouTube videos. My design is not completely original, but I don't remember anyone that used a standard sled as part of their design. I will do a search and try to find the videos I had seen in the past to make sure people get to see their designs as well.

magpens

Just my two-bits worth ....

.... pictures posted here on IAP mean more to me than youtube videos :):biggrin:

jttheclockman

I love when people make jigs because it shows they are trying to solve a situation that has come up in their ventures whatever it is. I make lots of jigs all the time and many are just one time use.