Best way to reassemble one that came apart during drilling?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wortmanb

This is my first attempt at segmenting. It's buckeye burl and aluminum flashing glued up with 5 minute epoxy.

The first one drilled just fine, but the cap came apart at the last section during driling. Since it was still mounted, I went ahead and drilled it the rest of the way so I _could_ assemble it with a short section of pen tube inside, then invert it so the pen tube falls out. Or I could try to glue it up around the tube and glue the tube in at the same time, but I'm worried about the tube not being centered if I can't see it.

Thoughts?

Attachments

• 2013-07-13 18.25.46.jpg
    2013-07-13 18.25.46.jpg
    46 KB · Views: 292
  • 2013-07-13 18.25.32.jpg
    2013-07-13 18.25.32.jpg
    43.5 KB · Views: 291
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ChrisN

Since it is drilled the whole way through, I would glue it together the same time I am putting the tube in. I'm not sure what you are saying about the tube not being centered. Are you meaning after you put your clamps on you won't be able to see the tube? If you dry assemble the pieces first, you can see how far from the one end you need to make the tube. The larger piece should keep the tube from sliding around inside very easily when you put the small piece back on. What I would be worried about trying to glue them together off of the tube would be keeping the holes aligned, which is critical since you drilled them to the final size already.

Jim Burr

Banned
Let's talk Bret...I have 2 on the lathe as we speak...they are not easy, simple or quick! PM for # and I may be able to help!

wortmanb

Well, I got all full of myself and decided instead of clamping them this time, to go ahead and assemble with the tube in place, use rubber bands for clamping and pray a lot. I'll report back after turning them tomorrow.