Adding a bit of color to my pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Drewboy22

Oh wise ones of the segmenting world.

I have watched several videos on segmenting via youtube so I am basically an expert now. However I have a couple question - Do you prefer segmenting with plastic something like this or with Veneers like this. Which is better or ease of use? Which look better when finished?

My second question is where do you usually buy your sheets? Looking around online it seems veneers go for about $20 -$25 for 3sqft.

Thank you for your help

Drew

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

Drew

Welcome to the world of segmenting where the sky is the limit. Only your imagination will hold you back. So open up and have some fun. There are no set rules as to what to use and when. I use plastics, veneers, metals and any combination of them. You are in the right forum and I suggest you look around and read some of the threads in here. There is a wealth of info here. Good luck and happy turning.

magpens

Hmmmm .... the first linke does not seem to do anything, Drew. Can you check, please.

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
Drew, as John said, you can use any of the materials both you and, John mentioned. My only input will be to, scuff the plastic and, metal sheets before gluing. Just in case you DIDN'T already know that. :rolleyes:

Have fun!!:wink:

BSea

If you use metal of much thickness, don't drill the blank with a brad point bit. It will drill the pilot hole, then cut a disk from the metal, and then won't cut anymore till you remove the metal. The problem is that if this happens, it generates lots of heat, and will probably cause the glue to fail, and may damage the blank.

Krash