What to do with really new wood..

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jimpenna

Hi All,
I am very new to pen turning and this group. While out on a walk the other day, I came across a downed beech tree that was cut up and put to the side of the path. I have a piece that I was able to carry and from what I can tell it is a piece of the trunk. By the color of the cuts, it it very newly cut down after having been snapped by a larger tree fall. My question is how long should I keep it before cutting it up into blanks? Should I strip the bark? Should I cut it up now?

I do not want to get into stabilizing and more than happy to let it sit in the garage for however long it needs to. It's a really nice looking grain.

Any help would be appreciated!

John

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dehn0045

Assuming this is a fairly large chunk of wood (I'm not sure how much you can carry -- do you compete in strong-man competitions?), it will take forever to dry if you do nothing. Fair warning -- I am by no means an expert. I would cut the log into 1 inch thick boards, then use paint to seal both ends. Wood will dry much faster from the end grain, which can cause cracking and bowing. Stack with 1/2 inch spacers, in the warmest and most dry location you have. Will take at least a few months, maybe closer to a year before it is dry. Weigh the boards and record the weight every month, when the weight stops dropping, they're dry.

There are plenty of microwave drying techniques that you could use if you are in a hurry. People also dry using their ovens, solar kilns, among others. Be sure to research these in detail for specific safety (fire) hazards.

Also, cutting wet or partially dried wood can be dangerous (specifically on the table saw) due to stresses, take appropriate precautions.

Good luck!

D.Oliver