A Newbie question for blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

UWCBrad

I have been a woodworker for a while and so I have an array of tools, and boards. I find that if I buy blanks they can cost $1 to $11 each, but, if I buy a 10' X 8" X 7/8" board, it is much cheaper.

Besides price, is there a pro or con of doing it this way?
Do blanks need to be dryer or anything else that a board would not be?

I can get most of the same woods in board lengths. Certain ones like Cocobolo and Bethlehem Olive is still a bit difficult.

Thanks for the help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Skie_M

If you can get the wood you need for blanks locally as boards and then process them yourself, that's definitely the best way to go! The problem is, many of us love to work in exotic woods that are not native the the areas we live in, like ebony, cocobolo, olivewood, ect ... for those we order them online, for the most part, or get very lucky to have a nearby cabinetry shop that has offcuts and discards that we could use!

Kiln and air-dried lumber has a moisture content of around 8% - 12%, which is quite sufficient to be used on your lathe. At those moisture levels, they probably will NOT decrease any further, and thus your project should turn out to be quite stable. Turning woods over 20% moisture down to final measurements should be avoided, as the wood will continue to shrink further as it tries to reach equilibrium with the environmental moisture content around it .... the same goes for wood that has been dried down to under 8% moisture, as that will likely attempt to absorb moisture and "grow" after you've turned it.

The process of sealing and finishing your project when completed should prevent the moisture content of your item from changing, and thus protects the wood and finish from cracks and splits as time passes by, but you should be aware that freezing temperatures can still cause damage, especially with higher moisture content items.