Many types of resin?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wongster

Hello folks,

Pardon me if my questions sound silly. I'm still rather new to turning pens and so far made only about 10 odd pens with blanks and kits bought from psi. I'm now exploring making my own blanks.

It started with me watching a few YouTube videos (the poisons...) about the topic and ended up trying to get my hand on some resin and pigments to start. I've just returned from a chemical factory locally and bought myself their minimum order quantity of 5kg of what they termed as "casting resin". This company came up in the search when I keyed in "polyester resin".

I was given the mixing proportion of hardened and resin, and an advice that the resin will bond to pvc pipe (I mentioned to him that I'll be using pvc pipe as mold). He told me that I'll need a release agent, which I later bought a tin to avoid having to go back to the industrial area.

I'm wondering if they are the same type of resin for casting blanks. Also, what kind of pigment should I buy?

Regards,
Kyle

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mrbbcrafting

I am no expert by any means I am learning myself how to cast, but I have found a few articles that I was reading this morning. The links are below. I do not know the full amount of information is valid as I haven't checked the websites for the dyes but I plan on that this afternoon. I know in my area the local art store had very small amount of pearl ex products so I am still trying to find powder pigments locally.. but alas here are the links.. Also here if you click on library, look at the options you will see a lot of information on casting there as well. The hardest part I think is getting the right amount of PR poured into the molds correctly..

http://www.penmakersguild.com/articles/prinstructions.pdf

http://content.penturners.org/library/techniques/casting_polyester_resin.pdf

http://www.jaxturners.org/tech/casting_with_polyester_resin.pdf

Eldermike