First cast

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Paul in OKC

Well, after trying this almost 20 years ago without much success, and the fact that no one else was doing it. I gave up. Several times I have bought the Castin Craft stuff, only to let it sit 'cause I never got around to it, or just too over thinking to try something new. Even have had this mold in a drawer for years. Finally said heck with it. I am a machinist by trade and always have looked at the chips, or 'swarf' as some call it with an eye of, "I really ought to be able to do something with those. So, back to Michael's with coupon and the first effort. Will turn soon! Used slim line tubes for this one. The chip was actually a long stringer with just the right ID for a tight fit on the tube. Did some small chips in the ends and in what was left in the cup. Boy, my head is spinning with ideas.

Attachments

• tubes.jpg
    tubes.jpg
    178.6 KB · Views: 325
  • mold 1.jpg
    mold 1.jpg
    190.1 KB · Views: 293
  • mold 4.jpg
    mold 4.jpg
    199.8 KB · Views: 275
  • mold 3.jpg
    mold 3.jpg
    160.7 KB · Views: 317
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Curly

Swarfs away!

I never saw swarf curl like that one before. Probably because the company I worked for only had CNC milling machines or perhaps it was the metals used. Being at the inspecting end of things I wasn't watching the condition of the swarf as it came off the machine except for picking it out of the soles of my boots. Does help with traction on ice though. I see a future for swarf sellers marketing all kinds of chips and curls to blank sellers. I look forward to see where you take this.

Paul in OKC

These come off the lathe. Fun part is being able to semi-control the tightness of the curl and whether it is a 'stringer' as this one, or individual chips by controlling the feed rate, and somewhat the color by using coolant or not. Material is mostly pre-heat treated 4340.

Attachments

• IMG_8846.jpg
    IMG_8846.jpg