Cedar limb

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Big

When hurricane Ivan hit Pensacola a few years ago we were very busy for weeks clearing the downed limbs and trees from people's yards. One lady had an old Cedar tress that came down and I saved a limb from that tree. I think originally I had intended to "whittle" on it and make a walking staff but realized that it could be cut up into blanks for turning pens.

With that being said. It is and has been outside my house for the however many years since Ivan just drying out. So, would it still need to be "stabilized" before turning after it is cut into blanks? I have no experience with turning Cedar but have seen lots of furniture made of Cedar and thought it might work well?

Comments, thoughts, and suggestions are most welcome. Thank you all for entertaining my questions and for everything you do to help me out. You are wonderful and amazing group of folks here.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Kenny Durrant

My dealings with cedar have been good. Everything I used was obtained the same way as yours. I had friends that were clearing trees or I cut limbs to turn. I never stabilized any of them and they turned and finished well. Cedar is a soft wood and I did have to be careful that it dinted easlily and you could almost turn it with just sandpaper. Stabilizing would make it a more durable pen but it still made some pretty pen without it.

Reactions: Big

scjohnson243

My dealings with cedar have been good. Everything I used was obtained the same way as yours. I had friends that were clearing trees or I cut limbs to turn. I never stabilized any of them and they turned and finished well. Cedar is a soft wood and I did have to be careful that it dinted easlily and you could almost turn it with just sandpaper. Stabilizing would make it a more durable pen but it still made some pretty pen without it.

Thats good to hear, I own a house on 10 acres full of cedar and hickory, I have yet to turn anything with cedar. :)