• To make enough money to pay for the hobby

Votes: 28 18.9%
  • As a hobby or the art/craft/trade

Votes: 92 62.2%
  • Other

Votes: 13 8.8%

• Total voters

atomic ray

As I am stepping into this venue, others are also starting, while a vast majority have been lathing the days and nights away.

The answer I am looking for is "why you turn, today".

I have a great deal of experience with furniture construction, antique restoration, classic cane work, and sculpting so I am not a complete novice, rather just a newbie to the pen turning disciplines.

So for you, today...

Thanks for putting up with all my questions :biggrin:

:bananen_smilies104:

Raymond

PS
I was rereading the choices...this is not a judgment of any kind, just a simple question from the curious...I was looking at the average prices for the high quality pens and this thought hit me in the head.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimB

Really just for the fun of it. I don't actually spend much time in the shop this time of year as it's in the basement and if the weather is nice I'm doing other things. If I get back some of my investment in the tools thats good too.

Cindylee

Started out as stress relief. Has become a family business since I retired and is still stress relief. Someday I might actually make a profit over all the toys (tools) and supplies (toys) that I buy.

atomic ray

I cant believe one of the categories wasn't for the love of turning. i cant get enough and find it really relaxing. the fact I make some money at it is cream

Erik

I had thought the "art/craft/trade" aspect would cover that one :biggrin:

But yes I could see that one being a great aspect for everyone :bananen_smilies051:
Raymond

PS
"because I would have driven off the road"...how droll...lol

Last edited:

Mark

I voted Other.