• Self made (inlay or sectioned) wood blank

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Self made (cast, including snakeskin, etc) acrylic blank

• Other/ anything I see is a potential pen blank

• Total voters

hilltopper46

What type of blank do you PREFER to use to make a pen?

Edit: yes, in answer to Ed's question (below) - what is your preference - forgetting for the moment about what sells the best.

There are only room for 6 choices or I would (wood?) have added a couple more!:)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
What do you prefer to make??? OR what do you make to SELL???

There is a difference. IF I could make and sell wood pens at the same rate that I can sell resins, I would enjoy doing that. I derive pleasure from other people finding my pens "pretty" enough to PAY for. So, I turn pretty much "anything that doesn't run faster than me!"

I picked "other", so thought I should 'splain what that meant!

RMB

I'm new at this, maybe around 100 pens, but I've turned mostly exotics, a few peices of acrylic, and a few burls. Haven't found anything locally thats really great. Actually I have some privet burl from a tree at my childhood home that was recently cut, gonna try that.

GoodTurns

Haven't set up to do my own casting, I think that's my NEXT project. I was a purely wood guy until I tried a couple of the synthetics. It is SOOOOO much easier to get a good finish and a beautiful pen, and you can sell them more quickly for more money. I will continue to turn both and my personal carry pen is wood but I am really getting a kick out of Richard and Ed's plastiques!

Wildman

I voted for using local/native wood blanks, but also buy acrylic blanks. Because that’s what I do!

Have been pleased and not so, buying acrylic blanks from both Berea & Hut. Some acrylics just don’t work for me and others give me a wow factor. Acrylics can give us, gift recipients, and buyers color options wood can not! Okay have not tried to dye a blank yet.