I have made a suggestion and would like your opinion.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

I think IAP would make communicating with each other easier if it had a chat room?

• Total voters

Len Shreck

Hello all I know I am just a Newbie but a Suggestion can be made from anyone that is one of the beauties of this site. That being said here is what I suggested:

I think this site and all of us on it could use and would benefit from IAP having a Chat Room, I think if possible to add it right here to the site. I think it would be a nice place to ask quick questions and for everyone to share their turning techniques in a live forum. I also feel it would be a great way to get to know other members besides from the pictures of theirs turnings and a non-personal thread, it is a more personal way to communicate with each other. So what does the rest of you think? Please let me know. I am sorry if this offends anyone in any way like I said I am just a newbie from Pennsylvania. Thanks for reading my suggestion and I hope you let me know what you think and please don't hold back. Len Shreck

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dow

Well, I put that I dislike it and think it's a stupid idea, although in my case the word "stupid" should be replaced with "impractical" or maybe "unworkable." By this I mean that being in a chat room requires one to be physically at the computer, waiting for the next post to be put in so that you can answer it. Personally, I don't have the time or patience to sit in a chat room for more than about five minutes, even if the conversation is interesting, with one exception. That exception being my wife. When we were dating, we used Yahoo messenger a great deal because it was a long distance call to talk on the phone, and the messenger program was free to use. In a case like that, it's a useful tool. In this case, however, I don't think that the usefulness factor is large enough to warrant it.

YMMV.

Daniel