How much time do you spend turning each week?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

How dedicated are you to turning?

• Just started...we'll see.

Votes: 5 4.2%
  • I dabble, but other things compete with my time.

Votes: 26 22.0%
  • I have a full-time job, but I turn whenever I get the chance.

Votes: 49 41.5%
  • I have a job, but I obsess over pens all day and turn every waking second I can.

Votes: 6 5.1%
  • I'm retired and I turn for fun and money.

Votes: 21 17.8%
  • I'm obsessed with it and do it as a full-time career despite the odds.

Votes: 11 9.3%

• Total voters

GouletPens

I'm curious just how many professionals, retirees, and hobbyists there are out there. Just nice to know, no real purpose. I'm a professional, so I turn or do pen-related things probably 50-60 hours a week.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Skye

Just turning as people request things right now. Keep saying I'm going to make a huge purchase and get a shop up and functional, but it always seems to be a month away.

Chasper

There have been some weeks this fall when I've worked at my full time job 55 hours and spend 35 hours pen turning. In other years I've spent that much time on my full time job so it is more relaxing than I've been accustom to over the years.

Daniel

Dabbler, I've made maybe a dozen pens all year. But hey my shop is there for my enjoyment not as a burden. sad thing is I have about 100 kits or so waiting for me to make something out of them. and that does not include my inventory for making pens as orders come in.

Texatdurango

Being retired gives me the option to spend all day, every day in the shop if I choose. As long as the grass is cut and the house isn't fallaing apart, my sweetie doesn't care what I do with my time so I probably spend 10 hours a day in the shop turning, doing flat work, casting, playing with the metal lathe or just piddling with ideas.

AlexL