How did you get your start in pen turning?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Bowl Slinger

Just curious as to what made each of us decide to get into the addiction of pen turning.
My story is: I am a diesel tech by trade but have always been into turning wood every since HS wood shop 28 years ago. 2 years ago my wife came into the shop and said that she wanted me too make a mechanical pencil for my daughter. I replied "are you loosing it? I dont turn those little things, Im a bowl slinger!" Hench thats where I got my handle from. I made the pencil and honestly have been hooked since then.
So what is your story?

LarryDNJR

I was laid off from a job early in 2008 as an IT Support role doing a jack of all trades kind of approach. After about 2 years being out of work I was wanting to pursue another interest possibly. I've always wanted to do something with my hands, create and use wood. So in 2009 for months I started researching Woodworking seeing what I could get into with the limited tools I had. One day I stumbled into some videos on Youtube that shown Pen making. I've always liked pens every since I was young. Seeing the process it really appeared to me as a good way to get into using tools, an excuse to get more tools plus create pens. In February 2010 I took a Pen Turning class at the Columbus Woodcraft, a month later I bought a Jet Mini lathe. Things just progressed from there. Doing it for fun, the idea of trying to sell didn't come till later in the year. Few years later still doing it, not selling much but still have the desire to create pens as often as possible. Now I am employed doing Technical Help Desk support but still enjoy making pens and eventually want to shift careers full time into woodworking, pen making etc if it can happen.

Larry

Last edited:

OOPS