Highest Quality Kits?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

paulwmichael

I'm fairly new at pen turning. My goal is to make very high quality, durable, and elegant pens for gifts. Any suggestions for pen kit suppliers? Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gbpens

Also try Berea Hardwoods and Craft Supply USA. In silver tone look for rhodium, platinum or chrome plating. For gold tone look for titanium gold. Stay away from "satin" plating. IT nicks easily.

Last edited:

TonyL

I have not tried all, but IMHO, LaserLinez are very good and reasonanly priced especially for the price.

paulwmichael

Great info

Thanks for the guidance everyone! Do you find that suppliers excel at particular kits, or do the ones you mentioned have great kits across the board? If the former, which kits do you like from which suppliers? Since I'm so new, any insight helps a bunch. Thanks.

Smitty37

Passed Away Mar 29, 2018
In Memoriam
I'm fairly new at pen turning. My goal is to make very high quality, durable, and elegant pens for gifts. Any suggestions for pen kit suppliers? Thanks!
Are you looking for quality meaning "glitz" or as penturners like to say "bling" = higher price or quality meaning, good looking but not glitzy, well made, and durable? Both definitions of quality get tossed around here.

In short are you talking about >$20 kits or <$20 kits.

MrBassMan

IMHO Craft Supply USA kits are very good...and their transmissions are exceptionally smooth.

Woodcraft pen kits are OK if you're just getting started, however I personally wouldn't use a low-end woodcraft kit for a commission piece, but YMMV

vtgaryw

Quality is in the eye of the beholder. I've been using a different pen that I made every week for the past year. I've been discovering some interesting things that are going to make my pens a lot better. I've look at four different aspects: 1) Plating, 2) Transmissions, 3) Threads and 4) Ink.