• Model 500X

Votes: 4 7.3%
  • Model 350X

Votes: 2 3.6%
  • Model SB

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

stonepecker

My birthday is coming up this month and the wife has asked what I need in the shop. I told her I would like a Drill Doctor.....:biggrin:

She came back today to ask me which one? I really don't know how the models differ. ..... :confused:
Any advice would be helpfull.

Thanks, Wayne

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Brh

Hi Wayne. I have the 750x. Opted for the greater capacity because as a carpenter, I use 3/4 bits regularly. As far as pen making goes, it can handle the 13 and 14mm bits I use for "kitless." Great tool, you can't go wrong. Hope this helps.
Regards,
Brian

NittanyLion

Go with the 750x if you can afford it. If not, and you do not use a lot of large bits, the 550 should be fine. I still like to sharpen larger bits by hand on my benchtop sander.

I own the "classic" 750(see pic) and have used it hard for almost 20years....only replacing the wheel a few times. It's been used hard and has held up well.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    27.2 KB · Views: 208

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
Can you ask her for two? :biggrin: I've always wanted one of those but, never have brought myself to the purchasing point :redface: They are proud of them :frown: Congratulations!

TonyL

I just bought the 750X. I have used it 3 times and enjoyed great results. It appears that the model numbers correspond to the bit diameter capacity.

Here's the company's website: Drill Doctor

I have found their technical support live chat to be excellent. They can help you decide.

The DD doesn't sharpen all types of bits - for example, brad points. It will sharpen them, but remove the brad.

Jim Burr also did a great job of collecting resources on the subject.

Enjoy your purchase and happy birthday.

Paul in OKC