Wen Metal Lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Basically the same lathe as sold by Harbor Freight, Grizzly, and others.

I think that most of the lathes of that appearance are made in the same factory in China.

I have one that I purchased from Princess Auto in Canada. . King (in Canada) sells the same lathe also, as does Busy Bee Tools.

I think you will find they are all made by a company named Sieg.

I have been using mine for about 7 years quite steadily without problems as long as you don't expect accuracy of better than 0.001" or perhaps a little better. . I have never used it on steel though and I think steel would push it beyond its capability.
Keeping the ways well adjusted is a bit of a challenge.

More4dan

It is identical other than the color to the Harbor Freight 7 x 12. It a good little lathe. I have the 7 x 10 (really 7 x 8). I've seen the HF for $599 occasionally.

Sent from my iPhone using Penturners.org mobile app

Penultimate

Looks like my Sieg lathe. I really like working with mine. There are a lot of accessories available. Check out YouTube there are tons of vids on the lathe. I recommend shopping around for a better price.

JPW062

I'd like to point out that using the same body castings and coming from the same factory does not mean the lathes are the same quality. I have worked in manufacturing in several facilities where competing brands were made with identical appearance. One brand might have machined steel gears, the next some junk pot metal, and a third some junk plastic. The tolerances on the three parts might vary greatly also. A body casting that was scrapped from be might be switched to a lesser brand and be well with-in specs. That is a generality about "same factory" manufacturing and not specific to these products.