Please do, show and tell, for some food for thought

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JP61

Lately I have been entertaining the idea of owning a bench top metal lathe and mill. Even though I have zero operating experience, I'm pretty sure I could get the basics down in a reasonable amount of time.

With experience, what are the possibilities as far as pen making goes?

What about plating.... do it yourself, farm it out or don't bother?
What about pen clips.... make your own?
What about...?
What about...?
What about...?

:redface: Anyone regret spending your hard earned cash on these machines + tooling, for pen making?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
I'll answer your last question first. Never, ever have I regretted spending the money on my lathe and, tools. I was fortunate to have the benefit of two teachers (of sorts) here in Fl. who were a great help in getting me familiar with operating a metal lathe, as well as keeping it maintained. If you have no similar means of learning, there are videos on youtube that can help and, books available too.

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
By teachers he means a couple of clowns!
Part of what you decide to do depends on the money you can throw at it and the amount of free time you have to dedicate to it. A metal lathe will give you a greater horizen for making custom parts,and pens, bushings and mandrels. It has a learning curve and like everything else the cost of the lathe is only the beginning. Most people use commercially available clips from our great vendors. You can make them and have them plated or plate them yourself but where do you want to spend your time and money? I dont mind having 10 days into making one pen. Plating has its own start up costs and isnt really cost effective for just a few parts. Now if your making a lot of parts and plating other things it may be a different story or if you already have a rectifier.