Metal lathe recommendation

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MShepard

I am considering a metal lathe, preferably less than $1000. I have no experience, is this a waste of money? What's the learning curve? Mainly want to cut threads, but the added accuracy would be nice and I am sure that there are other uses I will find. I saw a couple of small ones at the Grizzly store that were less than $500 but I don't want to regret the purchase but I don't want spend more than I need (actually don't need any, but would spend the equilavant of a nice rifle and will use it more).

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

I am considering a metal lathe, preferably less than $1000. I have no experience, is this a waste of money? What's the learning curve? Mainly want to cut threads, but the added accuracy would be nice and I am sure that there are other uses I will find. I saw a couple of small ones at the Grizzly store that were less than $500 but I don't want to regret the purchase but I don't want spend more than I need (actually don't need any, but would spend the equilavant of a nice rifle and will use it more).

There is a forum that deals with metal lathe questions here and i believe you will get more answers there. Good luck.

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
Michael
if you go into the metal lathe forum over on the right at the top in the dark blue line you will see search this forum. Click on it and on advanced search. Type in key words, metal lathe and it will pop up some choices.
http://www.penturners.org/forum/f166/lathe-comparison-137942/
There are a few threads that discuss the pros and cons of different lathes. In the end you will have to pick what fits in your budget.

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
Carriage