Metal lathe Question - International Association of Penturners
     International Association of Penturners
Pens for Service Members
 
Support The IAP

Go Back   International Association of Penturners > Community Forums > Metal Lathes
  Forgot Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Logged on members can hide ads!

Welcome to penturners.org!

You've found the home of The International Association of Penturners. You are currently viewing our site as a guest, which gives you limited access to view discussions, photos, and library articles.

Consider joining our community today. You'll have full access to all of our content, be able to enter our contests, find local chapters near you, and post your questions and share your experience with our members all over the world.

Membership is completely free!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2017, 02:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 527
Photos: 0

Default Metal lathe Question

Probably a dumb question but here goes. Can you put a normal tool rest on a metal lathe and turn pens with normal wood turning tools.
Silverado is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 07-17-2017, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
lorbay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: BC. Canada
Posts: 2,945
Photos: 134

Default

Yes you can. You can make all sorts of adapters for the metal lathe.
Lin
__________________
"If you come to a fork in the road Take It."
Yogi Berra.
lorbay is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 07-17-2017, 02:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
KenV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Juneau, Alaska.
Photos: 0

Default

The down side is cleaning the dust and woodswarf that gets everywhere before going back to precision metal work.

The lathe does not care!!!
__________________
Ken Vaughan
Old Apprentice Machinist - Back in Alaska
KenV is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Advertisement
Old 07-17-2017, 03:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
magpens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,903
Photos: 41

Default

Yes. . You will have to make an adaptor to hold a tool rest, both of which will probably be of your own custom design to fit your particular metal working lathe.

If you go for a Taig (micro lathe) you can buy the necessary hardware from Lee Valley but your work will be restricted in size to things of approximately pen size or a little bigger.
__________________
Mal

Don't expect too much; after all, I am a very simple sort of fellow.


magpens is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 07-17-2017, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 527
Photos: 0

Default

Thanks, Guys

I am asking the question for a friend that is just getting into pen turning.
Myself the only metal lathe I have used is a Brake Rotor and Drum Lathe.

He is looking at this lathe www.proxxon.com/en/micromot/24150.php

Is this a good choice for turning pens on.
He wants a small lathe that is 230 volt because he lives in Israel.

Tim
Silverado is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 07-17-2017, 05:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
magpens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,903
Photos: 41

Default

According to the specs in the link you shared:

"Distance between centres 150mm. Swing 55mm."

I would say that this lathe is BARELY adequate for pen turning. . Yes it will work but ....

150 mm between centers is only 6". . "Standard" pen blanks are 5" long

55 mm swing is only 2"+. . That dimension is OK for the turning part, but does not leave much knuckle room for sanding, polishing, etc.

Proxxon is not a very common brand name for lathes even in USA. . There could be problems buying parts, as well as accessories like other chucks, dead and live centers, quick change tool posts, maybe even cutting tools .... this friend is in Israel ... I see that Proxxon is in Germany but they do have an office in Israel but they don't seem to list an online catalog for Israel

Oh, by the way, if you have a metal turning lathe, you can turn pens without buying wood-turning cutting tools and tool rests. You can use standard metal-turning tools, including replaceable carbide tip tools, in the supplied (and pictured) tool post.
__________________
Mal

Don't expect too much; after all, I am a very simple sort of fellow.



Last edited by magpens; 07-17-2017 at 05:54 PM.
magpens is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 07-17-2017, 05:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 33
Photos: 0

Default

yes you can I have one for my sieg c3
TibetanDeathSausage is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 07-17-2017, 06:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Maryland
Posts: 143
Photos: 0

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverado View Post
Thanks, Guys

I am asking the question for a friend that is just getting into pen turning.
Myself the only metal lathe I have used is a Brake Rotor and Drum Lathe.

He is looking at this lathe www.proxxon.com/en/micromot/24150.php

Is this a good choice for turning pens on.
He wants a small lathe that is 230 volt because he lives in Israel.

Tim
I dont want to be a downer but don't expect to turn too much metal on that lathe the alum. head stock will be out of spec the first time it drops when changing the chuck as well as accidentally hits it with the compound. the belt drive also worries me with slipping. however if that is all your friend can get go for it. I out grew my 9" before I got it but at the time that was all I could get
Artisan iron designs is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 07-17-2017, 06:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 527
Photos: 0

Default

Thanks Mal
I didn't even check the specs on that lathe but I will tell him to stay away from it.

Does anyone know a make of a 230 volt Bench-top wood lathe that one can buy overseas.
All the 230 volt lathes I come up with are floor models.

Thanks for your help Guys!

Tim
Silverado is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 07-17-2017, 07:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
magpens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,903
Photos: 41

Default

Try this ...

Made In Israel | CNC Machining

http://lathes.co.uk/

http://www.lathes.co.uk/maxnovo/

http://www.lathes.co.uk/meccanica/

http://www.lathes.co.uk/csepel/

http://sherlinetoolsdealer.blogspot.ca/


I found these links by googling "lathes made in israel" although I didn't get any exact hits.


I also googled "where to buy lathes in israel" and got that sherline link


Here's another couple with a plant or rep in Tel Aviv

http://www.zayer.com/en/sales-network/israel/28

http://www.intertool.co.il/home

http://sherline.com/sherline-worldwide-dealers/

http://www.mtmarchetti.com/en/rete-d.../isralele.html

Post #62 here: http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb...84/index4.html

Youtube video with possible references: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvubIhUC9Qg

Weapons/systems manufacture; would have lathes and may sell used at auction: https://www.ashot.co.il/

http://www.jerusalemonline.com/news/...-weapons-24676 - police auction


Surely Israel has several machine manufacturers and vendors. Even Australia does and they don't have anything like the military-industrial complex that Israel does.
__________________
Mal

Don't expect too much; after all, I am a very simple sort of fellow.



Last edited by magpens; 07-17-2017 at 07:45 PM.
magpens is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Related Content
Logged on members can hide ads
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

Content Copyright © 2003-2016 by Penturners.org, LLC; All Rights Reserved
Terms Of Service   Acceptable Use Policy