Looking at a few lathes.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rangertrek

I am thinking of getting a metal lathe. I have reviewed many of the threads in this forum. Almost tooo much information for a beginner. And, I am a beginner, never used a metal lathe. Want to try my hand at some kit less work, threading, nibs, etc. Wish I was closer to some of you that metal experience. Could certainly use a lesson or two.
Read the excellent thread - Which Lathe to Pick?
Any thoughts on the following lathes? I seem to keep coming back to these on the selection process. Budget in the $1k range plus some extras.

Little Machine Shop - HiTorque 4100 7x12
Micro Mark 7x16 (was 7x14)

Also need some ideas on the extras to get with the lathe.
Tool holder, die holder, tap guide, etc.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Timebandit

Is there a reason you think you need a metal lathe to do kitless work??? All of my pens are made on a Jet mini wood lathe with one woodturning tool. You probably have all you need other than taps and dies which you listed above:)

Timebandit

Fair enough :) I would go with the Micromark for the simple fact that its 16" rather than 12". You are going to have some troubles on the 12 lathe bed. once you get a drill chuck in there and then a drill bit you ill be lucky if you can put a 2-3" blank in there.

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
John, I have the MicroMark 7x14 wish I had a 16" for more working room but, mine works just fine (so far) I really like this lathe. I won't try to recommend the best lathe to buy because, I've only used two. The other one belongs to Mike Roux and, it is a beauty. Way more than $1K though. Since you listed 3 tools to start with, it sounds like you have a good idea of some stuff we use. Get some good taps & dies. A lot of us use the sizes that are used in(some) kit pens. I'll let the other guys take it from here.