GIBS VS GIBLETS

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

okiebugg

My problem is one iof ignorance. I have the basic knowlege of math, fractions, and what I've learned over the years by observation.

When I ask of shimming, and you say gibs, I say I don't know Gibs from Turkey Giblets. I have muddled through self teaching, but haven't been able to ' figger'out shimming to the center line. of the objective,

I have a tool "table" that is used as an XY table for adjustments. I have the manual tool table, and not the other one mentioned by some on here.

Here is one caveat: I am a combat veteran and have a pretty serious problem with PTSD. I have what the shrinks call "racing thoughts".......I can read instructions, but comprehension is another matter. If I follow someone who is talking to me, I do just fine. If there is a (sounds gay--I'm not gay) male angel out there whom I could have a conversation with, I could probably learn a lot more, but so far nobody has volunteered. Short conversations. I'll pay the phone time. Anyone interested in a phone pal, let me know...I'll send you my # and we can talk occasionally, or send me your # under PM and we'el talk. Thanks in advance.......

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Curly

I think he wants someone to help him understand how tighten/adjust his X-Y table to take out the looseness and perhaps backlash out of it too.

Paul in OKC

If you look under where the table 'slides' when you turn the handle, there is a dove tail set up, so to speak. On one side there should be a screw, that holds in the 'gib'. It is a tapered piece used to take slop out of the table. If not there, then there may be a row of set screws with nuts on them on one side. What type of table is it? (I was just in your neck of the woods twice last week).

jd99