Beginner questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

nrun

sorry if this is in the wrong forum. I am totally new to pen turning, but would like to try my hand at it. I have a metal lathe, and plan to use some titanium that I have on hand. As a practice run, I thought I would first start with aluminum, since it's easier to work with. Is the best way to get started to try a slimline kit, and then just not use the brass tubes that come with it? Also, I presume I don't use a mandrel, correct? Finally, since I don't have a pen press or a vise that will get that big, is there some other reliable way to assemble the pieces? Should the pieces be press fit, or would people recommend some type of glue? thanks very much

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

williamcr

I use an arbor press and it works better than the vise and pen press that I have used.

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
Since you're using a metal lathe, get some taps and dies, turn your own pen parts and, drill and tap your holes. Cut a tenon and thread that part as well. No kits to buy. You can scrounge up some clips if you want them. Here are a few pics of some parts I'm referring to. Beginning with aluminum is a good idea in my opinion. Hope this helps. If you want to use kits, you can. May want to use a drop of glue if you press the parts in.

Attachments

• IMG_0975.JPG
    IMG_0975.JPG
    22.1 KB · Views: 218
  • IMG_0904.JPG
    IMG_0904.JPG
    83.1 KB · Views: 207
  • IMG_0963.JPG
    IMG_0963.JPG
    73.8 KB · Views: 220
  • IMG_0964.JPG
    IMG_0964.JPG
    85.5 KB · Views: 182
Last edited:

AnachitlPut