Figured walnut root blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fersfigure

I have 20 highly figured walnut root blanks for sale. I'd like 10 a piece. Plus shipping. They are not "off cuts". I cut up a 1 inch slab solely to make high quality blanks. They measure 1×1×5 with a little bit a variation. They have not had any chemicals added to them whatsoever. I wanted to keep them but some times life throws a curve ball.

Attachments

• 20180912_140159.jpg
    20180912_140159.jpg
    223.8 KB · Views: 298
  • 20181013_104544-1.jpg
    20181013_104544-1.jpg
    106.9 KB · Views: 272
  • 20181013_104752-1.jpg
    20181013_104752-1.jpg
    112.9 KB · Views: 232
  • 20180911_191249.jpg
    20180911_191249.jpg
    165.9 KB · Views: 247
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fersfigure

Ouch? I have another post asking for average pricing. I am a logger by trade. I started saving burls and roots because I heard of their value. I was told to contact turners. I have since done so and it really surprises me. What is the average price for highly figure walnut root blanks that have been air dried? From a reputable source. Not Joe I "found this wood" from up the road.

Dehn0045

I generally consider Cook Woods to have some of the highest quality wood available on the internet: https://www.cookwoods.com/collections/walnut-claro . Comparing with some of the peppermill blanks that they have, you are looking at about $2 to $3 per blank. Gilmer is another retail site, and their prices tend to be a little less: https://www.gilmerwood.com/search/results?utf8=✓&q=walnut . I already have too many blanks, but when I was a buyer I wouldn't go much over $3 a blank. For comparison, the most that I have spent on unstabilized wood blanks is $9 ea, and that was for amboyna with heart/sap contrast -- and looking back I probably overpaid.