deep hollowing system

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Magicbob

I have looked at all the systems put there and believe I have a better idea.
I think I can bring it to market for about $250 complete.
A few features:
* It will work on a midi lathe like we use for pens.
* Uses a carbide cutter
* It can be used on both the upcut or down cut side of the lathe
* will be able to hollow 18" deep thru a 1" hole

As this will not be a cheap startup, I want to gauge the interest.

Thoughts, comments, questions?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

southernclay

Bob would this be a captured hollowing setup or more of an articulated arm setup? I'm not an expert or even amateur in any of them just trying to get a general picture. It's something I love the idea of trying one day and $250 seems reasonable.

duncsuss

Something about the arithmetic isn't adding up for me, perhaps I don't understand what you are proposing.

Would you call the Jet 1221VS a midi lathe?

According to the spec sheet, there's 20.5 inches between centers.

That's before you deduct 3" or thereabouts for a chuck and jaws capable of holding an 18" deep blank. That would leave no space at the tailstock end for either a tool rest or tool capturing system (both of which are usually required -- with some space in between them -- when hollowing deep.)

Magicbob

on a standard midi lathe you would remove the tail stock to hollow, and may not be able to make quite as tall of a piece.
If you have an bed extension you may be able to just slide it all the way to the right.

By up cut and down cut, I am talking about the direction the wood is moving as it touches the cutter.

Down cut is the way we all cut now, the wood is moving down as it passes the cutter.