Where to get "high quality" burls?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Quality Pen

I'm reading people talking about "exhibition grade" and stuff like this and I wonder whats the good stuff... then I wonder where to find it?

I mean... I'm no expert in discerning "good" from "exhibition" grade, ya know?

I was looking around on CSUSA and saw their "choice" stuff that they charge a little extra for (Pen Makers Choice Premium Amboyna Burl Pen Blank | Pen Making | Craft Supplies USA) but I don't really know if that's the "good stuff". I also know that PSI offers those hand selected by barry gross blanks. I can't really compare things though. But when I think about it, I just know its worth spending some extra money to put out a beautiful pen because, as I see it, the same amount of work goes into a mediocre piece of wood that goes into a high quality piece of wood.

Of course, if it breaks you'd feel a sharper sting :biggrin::bulgy-eyes:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
High quality means different things to different people. Mostly only time will help you as you get to see the different woods and determine what it is to you. Most hight grade woods are tightly grown burls or tight packed curls in the wood. Their picture of high grade koa for example doesnt fit my qualifications.

Here is my version of High grade or exhibition koa.

http://www.penturners.org/forum/f56/simple-wooden-sierra-style-pen-81467/

Bad Dog burls comes highly recomended. Ebay will have a selection and you can see pictures. YOu might consider buying a board and cutting it up into blanks, its usually cheaper if you have the equipment. (and You should}

http://www.penturners.org/forum/f160/bad-dog-burls-106778/

Attachments

• sierra 14.jpg
    sierra 14.jpg
    102.8 KB · Views: 77
Last edited:

robutacion

I'm reading people talking about "exhibition grade" and stuff like this and I wonder whats the good stuff... then I wonder where to find it?