Your opinion

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Robert A.

Just turned a black cherry burl euro.The thing is it has some voids.I'm using a copper kit.Not sure which vender I got it in a trade.Anyway I was thinking of filing off some copper pipe.Plan on using CA to set it in.The ring on the top cap has a black ring on it.So I got to thinking.I know be careful.How about some pencil lead?Just thought I would ask before I do it.I've never done that before.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mick

I think....(now bear in mind I get in a lot of trouble with these words), but I think some crushed turquiose would be a good contrast. My way of looking at it if the copper doesn't match the color of the fittings it won't look quite right, whereas the turquiose will stand out.

Robert A.

I think....(now bear in mind I get in a lot of trouble with these words), but I think some crushed turquiose would be a good contrast. My way of looking at it if the copper doesn't match the color of the fittings it won't look quite right, whereas the turquiose will stand out.

I agree with a contrast stone.But the thing is I got NO funds.Thanks though I hadn't really thought about the copper not matching.

mick

How much would you need? I think I've got some turquoise I could share.

I agree with a contrast stone.But the thing is I got NO funds.Thanks though I hadn't really thought about the copper not matching.

juteck

With cherry burl, something black looks great -- try blackwood or ebony dust, or even mixing epoxy with a black india ink or graphite - you don't need much. Coffee grounds and CA also look great too.

thewishman

I save some shavings from different materials and use that when I want to fill in voids. Got to do something with all of these kit bags (the old kit bags that aren't packed with troubles :biggrin:).

Robert A.