yet another out of round barrel question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

beloff

Yes, I am fairly new to turning, but I get the basic premise that when you spin something and hold a tool against it, it should be circular in cross section. My pens aren't. At first, I was concerned with alignment and runout on the lathe (rikon mini). I brought the tailstock to the headstock with points in them and was satisfied with the matching. I used a dial indicator to check the headstock morse taper (0.001") and a faceplate (0.003").

I put a jacobs chuck in and the runout of the mandrel was ~0.010"
with one of the "professional" mandrels with the 1/4" collet chuck it was 0.008". With another collet chuck, I'm back to 0.001" at the headstock.

so, I got some bushings for some atlas-style pens and wall st/gatsby types and started turning. I adjusted the tailstock so that it was snug but not tight, and tightened down the mandrel nut to where is was also snug, but not too tight. result-oval tubes.

I noticed that the bushings fit to the mandrel had some slop and they were noticeably not traveling in a circular orbit when turning. is there some accepted fit for a bushing/mandrel connection? Is there any way to fix the bushings that I have to make round pens? is there a manufacturer who is known for producing bearings with a tight fit to a standard mandrel?

by the way, yes, I am aware of the two mandrel sizes. I have purchased all of my kits from penn state and woodcraft who use the standard ~1/4" mandrel.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
There are several possible problems to your dilemma. You mentioned that mandrel being snug and the nut being snug, so if we eliminate those two, -
1. Have you checked the mandrel and its runout?
2. Are you using a 60° live center in the tail stock? If not, this could be the problem.
3. You did mentioned a small amount of slop in the bushings - this is also a possible problem.