Are y'all this froogle?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

kf4knf

So I hate buying acrylic blanks at 3-6 bucks a piece from the suppliers when I am just making a 7mm pen. It just raises the pen's selling price...

So, I came up with a plan. I can purchase a 1x1x5 bank and make 2 7mm pens out of it by cutting it on the band saw. I am basically adjusting the band saw table to a 45 degree angle and cutting lengthwise through the blank. This gives you 2 triangle blanks to work with.

Anyone one else this cheap? I am still new to casting my own so this process will get me by for now while I work on my skills.

You really have to be careful when drilling the blank after its a triangle because you have less clearance between the drill cut and the edge of the material. The chances of a blowout are also quite high. I keep an old cycling water bottle near by and shoot some water down the drill hole and on the bit to keep it cool. When I am done I mop up the water from the drill press to prevent rust and move on to gluing the tubes. :D

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

Or even the 5/8" blanks..not available from every distributor.
Do a good turn daily!
Don
Originally posted by laspringer
<br />kf4knf,
I've used that technique before.
Slimline pens B2B you can go to 7/8 X 7/8 with
wood blanks.
Alan

JimGo

A B2B sl is only 1/3" thick. I've cut a 1" blank into four pieces and made SL's out of each. Usually reserve this for a really highly figured blank from which I NEED to make a slimline, such as where the customer picked the blank.

Randy_

Hi Steve:

As some of the other guys have pointed out, with a little practice you can double your frugality without too much troubled. While the other guys were posting, I was playing around with my slide rule to see how the numbers actually panned out.